What Gastroparesis Does


If you aren’t familiar with gastroparesis, you are lucky. Many people don’t realize that it’s much more than feeling full/bloated/nauseated and vomiting (though it IS all of those things). It affects blood sugars.

Here is a perfect example.

up, up, and away....

up, up, and away….

I ate around 2:30pm. I stayed surprising low – my BG never peaked. In fact, I needed a juice box at one point because I was 77 and dropping just an hour after eating. That juice box did the trick and everything seemed fine again….then out of nowhere, I started skyrocketing. I was in class just as it began and I was shocked at how fast I was going up. My CGM shows my blood sugar going up over 150mg/dl in the space of about an hour to an hour and a half from where my BG started.

….Apparently my food was digesting, when I no longer had any IOB to help me out. I rage bolused for SIX HOURS to try to get my blood sugar under control. I did it but I’m angry….

I’m angry I had to drink that extra juice early on, right after I ate (those extra calories add up!). I’m angry I had to give SO MUCH extra insulin because I essentially had to bolus for my meal TWICE…once when I ate, and again when I actually digested it.

Gastroparesis is still new for me. It’s still sporadic. I don’t have flare-ups daily. Sometimes my flare-ups don’t do much to my BGs, sometimes they do. There is no pattern to any of this yet.

For anyone out there who deals with gastroparesis and diabetes: I’m sorry. This sucks. For anyone with gastroparesis that has advanced to a point you are feeding via a tube/you can’t handle solid foods: you are my heroes. Seriously, I can’t imagine that and how difficult it must be.

Do any of my readers/followers have gastroparesis? Share stories, tips, advice, etc. if you want!

5 thoughts on “What Gastroparesis Does

  1. I’m so sorry!! I can’t imagine how hard this is – especially since you never know if it’s going to flare up or not until it happens. I wish I had some advice, but I hope someone else who reads this does. And thank you for educating us.

  2. Natalie Sera says:

    Sounds familiar!! I have not been formally diagnosed with gastroparesis, because I don’t want to bother with the test — the symptoms are enough, and there’s nothing medical to be done at this point, anyway. But I did get some tips from my gastroenterologist. First off, he said chew well and drink a lot of liquid with the meal. Obviously, water is the easiest and best choice. Second, keep meals small, which may mean going to a 3 meals, 3 snacks plan, which I hated when they first put me on it many years ago, but I need to do if I have to keep my meals small. The stomach copes better with liquid than solid, and with small quantities than large. I guess it doesn’t like to be too stretched out.

    I hope this helps, because the BG effects SUCK!! I also find that I’m taking a LOT of late corrections, and my insulin dose has gone up, and that bothers me. It’s like you feel SO good when the BG is staying level after a meal, and then you get hit with the rise — it’s as much an emotional rollercoaster as a physical one!

    So I can’t say good luck, because it is what it is, but I hope you can find a way to deal with it better emotionally. Hugs!!

  3. Stacy says:

    Dual wave boluses have saved my bg’s since being diagnosed. I do a 40/60 spread out over 1 or 3 hours depending on what I have eaten (3 hours for carb heavy and fatty foods). It definitely took me some time to get done my timing.

    • My gastroparesis still seems to be in a phase where I go through very sporadic flare-ups followed by several weeks of no symptoms….then more flare-ups. Because it is happening inconsistently, dual/square wave/extended boluses aren’t really an option for me yet…..I’ll be really high if I use them when I am not having a flare-up. For now I’m trying to track my flare-ups and see if there is any pattern to when they happen, but they really do seem random and sporadic.

  4. I have Celiac’s (full-on, not just the irritation) and apparently don’t digest my food for 24-36 hrs after eating. I had never heard of this, and it sounds very familiar. I am definitely going to be talking to my endo about this. Again….thanks for all your knowledge. Not having insurance most of my adult life has lead to me falling behind on my education/knowledge. I’ve got insurance and trying to get it all together, but it’s one step at a time!

Leave a Reply

