Blood Sugars: A study in photos of my Dexcom G4


Throughout most of my time with diabetes I’ve known what affects my blood sugars; after all, it’s fairly obvious, if testing BG enough, to determine whether something causes a rise or a fall in BG levels. However, it wasn’t until I got my Dexcom back in May that I fully realized just how much some things affect my BGs (or how much I’d be affected by my Dexcom…)

If you don’t have a Dexcom….have you ever wondered what it looks like when you are sick? Stressed? Eat something you shouldn’t have? Eat something you didn’t think you should have and found it had little effect at all?

Since May I’ve taken a series of photos of my Dexcom receiver. Here are some of the photos I find most telling about living with T1 diabetes:

I've got a pretty good handle on how to bolus for sushi

I’ve got a pretty good handle on how to bolus for sushi

Being served the wrong drink at a restaurant should be a crime

Being served the wrong drink at a restaurant should be a crime

Diabetes likes to keep me up at night

Diabetes likes to keep me up at night

My Dexcom has an attitude problem....

My Dexcom has an attitude problem….

Some days are super awesome and everything goes right

Some days are super awesome and everything goes right

It's just not worth being too aggressive with the glucose tabs or the juice...

It’s just not worth being too aggressive with the glucose tabs or the juice…

Sometimes I think my beta cells are still active, and get joy out of f*cking with me....

Sometimes I think my beta cells are still active, and get joy out of f*cking with me….

Being sick makes diabetes act like a roller coaster, regardless of food intake (this was a day I was sick enough that I didn't eat)

Being sick makes diabetes act like a roller coaster, regardless of food intake (this was a day I was sick enough that I didn’t eat)

Stress has amazing powers on the body. This was the rise during my grandfather's funeral, and the crash back down

Stress has amazing powers on the body. This was the rise during my grandfather’s funeral, and the crash back down

Highly processed pastas like mac and cheese are not my friends....

Highly processed pastas like mac and cheese are not my friends….

Apparently ice cream has very little affect on my BGs. This is just one image, of three that I have, of similar flat-lines after whole pints of ice cream, DQ Blizzards, etc. Ice cream is a safe food for me and my diabetes.

Apparently ice cream has very little affect on my BGs. This is just one image, of three that I have, of similar flat-lines after whole pints of ice cream, DQ Blizzards, etc. Ice cream is a safe food for me and my diabetes.

Leave a Reply

