Dexcom G4 Platinum CGM – First Impressions


I began using my new Dexcom G4 system on Monday evening.  It’s been wonderful to have – and after only just over 36 hours with it, I can’t imagine not having it.

The first night it woke me up three times to alert me to lows – the first time was a false alarm, but the next two times I was in fact low.  I have my alerts set at 70, so I can get my lows fixed as soon as they happen (minus the few minutes lag that a Dexcom can have in comparison to blood glucose).

Look at that control! Total fluke!

Look at that control! Total fluke!

Last night it woke me up for a low and then, when I overcorrected for that low, it woke me several times for being high.

I have found the information it gives me to be highly valuable and overall I’m finding it to be fairly in line with my meter readings.

My only complaint so far is that sometimes, if I am skating around an alert-level number, this can set the alert off multiple times in a short period. Last night I hit 200, the alert went off – I acknowledged and dealt with it.  A few minutes later it read 198….then a few minutes later it read up at 202 again. And because I crossed that 200 mg/dl level again, the alert went off again.  I just wanted to sleep!!!!

I’ve been using the ‘Dexcom in a glass at night’ trick that I’ve seen around the DOC, in order to hear my alerts at night (I have my Dexcom set to ‘vibrate’) and it’s worked really well – I wake up right away.  Hopefully my husband doesn’t want to kill me or my Dexcom yet.

I tend to name my devices, because I often ‘talk’ to them (that sounds crazy…..it actually started as a way to refer to my insulin pump with my kindergarteners when I was teaching – hence, my Animas Ping was named ‘Frank’), so I’ve been thinking about what to call my Dexcom. I didn’t want to use ‘Dexie’ or ‘Dexter’ because I feel like every third person in the DOC uses those names. I just call my t:slim ‘Slim 2.0’ (because this one is a replacement pump for my original t:slim) and so in line with finding a name related to the product name I’ve decided to call my Dexcom ‘Dextah’.  It has a silent ‘t’ by the way (it’s said ‘Dex-sa’).  So for anyone who knows me IRL – if you hear me talking to ‘Dextah’, know that it is NOT an imaginary friend!

One thought on “Dexcom G4 Platinum CGM – First Impressions

  1. I call it “riding the line” when my Dexcom seems to continuously beep because I keep going a few points over and under my threshold.

    Yay for Dextah otherwise!!

Leave a Reply

