Testing Should Be Mandatory….


A few days ago an ex-coworker of mine sent me a text to tell me that a former student of mine (who will forever be etched in my memory, he was QUITE the interesting student), had lost his little brother to a sudden death.  At the time I spoke with my ex-coworker the cause of death was not being announced. I asked her to pass my condolences on to the family and I haven’t given it a lot of thought since then.

Then tonight……I found a news article. I was shocked to find it was about this very family, and it hit close to home in another way as well.  

The child, just a toddler, died of undiagnosed type 1 diabetes.

The mother is pushing for blood sugar testing to become a mandatory part of regular pediatric visits for all children, so that other families don’t have to go through what their family is going through.

I whole-heartedly agree with her.  It would be so easy to prick a child’s finger and see what their blood sugar is.  How many lives could be saved? How many children could potentially avoid a frightening diagnosis involving DKA?

Why, when this testing is so inexpensive in the grand scheme of things, is it not done?

As parents or future parents, we in the DOC know the symptoms to look for – but many do not. This simple testing could help parents who may have no idea what the symptoms of Type 1 are and who are not actively looking for them.

What do you think?

5 thoughts on “Testing Should Be Mandatory….

  1. Yes it should. Actually, it shouldn’t even require a mandate; a modicum of common sense should lead this to be done as a routine procedure, along with temperature and blood pressure.

    I would love to see the American Association of Pediatrics incorporate this into their guidelines.

  2. I have to agree, just because I know what to look for doesn’t mean others do, it should be something routinely done. This is not the first time I’ve heard of this happening and it wont be the last until something is set in place. Very tragic. :/

  3. What about just even peeing on a stick? Kids love to pee. (They’re not big on finger sticks, but if there is a presence of glucose in the urine, then next step.)
    It wrenches my heart every time I hear something like this.

Leave a Reply

