These Are a Few of My Favorite Things…


I skipped HAWMC yesterday, I know.  I just couldn’t get into the prompt, and I didn’t have any other topic to write about.  But I’m back now. Today’s prompt asks us to “Write a list of the 10 things you need (or love) most.”

For me, this is harder than it appears.  First off, there are many things I need just to stay alive. Do they mean more to me than the things I love? No. But they do serve a more immediate functional purpose…

Also, the word things implies inanimate objects and not people or animals – but there are people and animals (well, one animal) that I love more than say…test strips. So how do I do this?

I suppose pretending I have to write a list of things I can have with me if I were to be stranded on an island puts things into some perspective.  I’m writing this with the assumption that my fiance is stranded with me, and our rabbit is safely being cared for by my brother (I don’t want Buster to be eaten by wild animals on the island!). I’m also assuming we can find our own food, shelter, etc. In that case, here are the 10 things I need/love most and would take along (in no particular order!):

  1. A never-ending supply of insulin (Maybe someone flies it in and parachutes it down to the island? I assume the island is hot, so I will need a new fresh bottle fairly often!)
  2. A never-ending supply of test strips (Because diabetes doesn’t stop when you are stranded on an island…)
  3. A glucose meter w/ batteries
  4. Frank (my insulin pump)
  5. A never-ending supply of, well, supplies…for Frank (infusion sets, batteries, reservoirs/cartridges)
  6. My engagement ring
  7. A photo of my family/friends
  8. A photo of Buster
  9. Stephen King’s The Stand (It’s a good book and it’s LONG, so I won’t get bored with it too fast, even on the island. Hey, I need some entertainment.)
  10. A huge notebook/pen (So I can document my time stranded on an island; if I ever get off the island I might get rich publishing my book!)
2 thoughts on “These Are a Few of My Favorite Things…

  1. I’d have grouped all the diabetic requisites under number 1!! LOL. Would have left more room for iPhone – with connectivity – my Kindle, with connectivity – cos I can’t read the Kindle app on the iPhone in the sun.

    But yours is a great list.

    Cheers.

  2. Hi there, After you started following me on twitter I decided to follow your blog. I don’t have type 1 diabetes but I do have type 2. I was ignoring my diabetes and I ended up losing about half of my left foot because of it. I just wanted to tell you that I will be reading your BLOG daily because you are very inspirational to me. I started pcmdr to help people fight the disease and to allow them to go to one place to monitor their diabetes. Please take a look at our site at http://pcmdr.ca we are just starting but it is entirely free for diabetics and their caregivers. Thanks for your BLOG, it is wonderful!

    Lary

Leave a Reply

