Why I Do What I Do


Today’s prompt asks us to “Reflect on why you write about your health for 15-20 minutes without stopping.”

I write about my health (ie mainly my diabetes, but also occasionally about my retinopathy (which is, of course, related)) for a multitude of reasons…

…because I’m hoping that even just ONE ‘normal person’ (by normal I mean someone with a fully functioning pancreas) stumbles across the blog and learns something new about Type 1 diabetes.

…because I’m hoping to dispel some of the (stupid) myths that surround diabetes of all types, and dispel a lot of the misinformation that people think they know about type 1 diabetes.

…as a therapeutic release of my own feelings about diabetes.

…as a way to get out my excitement over new D-technology without freaking out my non-D friends (who probably think me getting excited over a new pump or new glucose meter is just plain weird).

…as a way to keep myself accountable. I tend to slip and move away from tight control if I move away from the DOC, so keeping in touch with others and keeping up my blog is important in my overall motivation towards control.

…but mostly as a way to connect with others on the internet who understand type 1 diabetes in all its multi-faceted glory (ok, so maybe glory isn’t the right word) and understand what it’s like psychologically, physically, and mentally to live with it day in and day out without end.

2 thoughts on “Why I Do What I Do

  1. natsera says:

    You said kind of what I said, only you said it so much better! 🙂 I didn’t mention the accountable part, but that really IS part of it. Left to my own devices, I can be really BAD, and it IS nice to have friends who understand that part of life with diabetes. So keep up the blogging — you’re doing GREAT!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

