I’m Engaged! and other news


So I’m going to be a screechy girl for a moment….

I’M ENGAGED!

Ahem. Ok, now that that’s out of the way….what’s been happening with my diabetes?

Well, I haven’t seen my endo since August, for insurance reasons. However, I have an appointment in just two days. I’m interested in seeing what my A1c will be like, but at the same time feel like I’m inadvertently ‘cheating’ lately. Not that I’m doing anything I shouldn’t, but I’m having a lot of strange and unexplainable low blood sugars, and I know that’s going to affect my A1c in a big way.

For example…yesterday I was in the 40s three separate times. Today I woke up with a BG of 58. I have no idea why I’m suddenly so much lower. I have decreased my basal about 4 units per day and it looks like I need to decrease it more.

At first I thought it was because I was eating less carbs (down from 250g+ a day to around 100-175g), but I still seem to need the same I:C ratio…..it’s at night or way after meals that I’m seeing lows, so I don’t think it has anything to do with the food intake. *shrug* That’s just the nature of the beast I guess.

Leave a Reply

