A Totally Non-D Topic


This is completely unrelated to diabetes, but I’m very excited and want to write about it, so here goes…

I’m in my third year of teaching right now. (I taught first grade for two years, now I’m teaching kindergarten.) And while I love the kids and the actual face-to-face time with my kids, I hate the political crap, I hate the workload and long unpaid-for-hours, I hate the constant derision and disrespect teachers are greeted with, I hate the way we’re expected to perform more and more miracles with less materials/cut budgets/less support staff, I hate how I spend hundreds (thousands?) of dollars of my own money every year in order to do the job. I’m not happy anymore.

…So I’ve made the choice to leave teaching, after the completion of the 2011-2012 school year (with the exception of MAYBE teaching summer school). I will be returning to school to obtain another B.S. degree, this time in Health Care Administration.

I’m very excited to begin this new (and hopefully much longer lasting) chapter in my life. Now to wait for September!

2 thoughts on “A Totally Non-D Topic

  1. I can’t say I’m surprised, but I’m sad that the kids will lose such a delightful, dedicated teacher. But I do understand your reasons perfectly — I’m glad I retired before it got quite this bad, although it was bad enough when I was teaching. And I’m sorry the selfish rich people and politicians are doing their best to destroy what once was a pretty good education system. 😦

Leave a Reply

