It’s All Worth It


Lately I’ve sort of felt like I was slipping back into a diabetes burnout.  Which is something I never want to let myself experience again, because I know once I’m in it…I’m in it for a long time, and I’m in trouble!

But this Tuesday I had my endocrinology appointment.  That means, yes, you guessed it: a new A1c value.  My recent A1cs have been fabulous (December 2010: 5.9%, April 2011: 5.6%) lately, but I just wasn’t sure how this one would be. I was hoping for under 6%.  My meter average indicated it might be closer to 6.2%.

Actually, it’s 5.7%.

And THAT my friends, that one number, is the reason I can say that all the work I put into my diabetes is worth it!

(And, on a side note: I’m horrified by how little some medical students know. The med student who examined me and spoke with me before my endo came in didn’t know how to read a simple trend graph of my blood sugars, didn’t seem to really know what a healthy or normal blood sugar range might be, didn’t understand basal/bolus, and had never seen an insulin pump before much less understand the first thing about how it works. She also didn’t know at all how retinopathy is treated. EEK!)

One thought on “It’s All Worth It

Leave a Reply

