Admiring Our Differences


There are SO MANY different kinds of diabetics and D-bloggers in the world. There are other Type 1s like myself who’ve been living with D since they were children. There are adults diagnosed with a form of Type 1 who have a slower onset and typically experience diagnosis a bit differently than children do (LADAs – Latent Autoimmune Diabetes in Adulthood). There are Type 2 diabetics. There are the parents of diabetic children who work to be the pancreas for their child. Then there are the less common MODYs (Maturity Onset Diabetes of the Young) which isn’t really either Type 1 or Type 2. And of course there are women out there who are diagnosed with gestational diabetes.

It’s interesting for me to read blogs of others like me (people diagnosed with Type 1 diabetes when they were young) because their thoughts, viewpoints, and experiences always seem to speak to me. I can read something that might make little sense to a non-D and in my head I’m screaming ‘Yes! Someone else gets it! Someone else knows!’ I get this feeling often from LADA blogs as well.

I will admit that I spend much less time reading blogs of Type 2 diabetics, gestational diabetics, or MODY diabetics – only because I find them harder to locate on this vast thing we call the internet.

For a long time I also did not read the blogs of parents of diabetic children, thinking I had little to learn from them and would find little common experience to share. Over time I’ve come to realize this is…well…extremely wrong. By reading the blogs of D-parents I’m often brought back to my childhood and the stresses I must have put my parents through. While things were different, because tight control wasn’t pushed for me by my doctors, I know my parents were still stressed out worrying about managing my diabetes. I remember my mom crying the first time she gave me a shot. I remember the yelling and screaming (and probably terror on their part) when they discovered I was sneaking Little Debbie snacks and hiding the wrappers. I remember making bad choices with candy while out with friends and then my dad being so confused when I’d come home with super high blood sugars.

Reading the blogs from these D-parents makes me appreciate my own parents more and makes me more fully aware of how stressful this condition is for not only the person with diabetes but for those who care for that person. I don’t think I’ve ever thought of it that way before. It’s always been about me and how I feel, because I’m the one that has to live with it, darn it! But I’ve been forgetting there’s this whole other part to the equation…the people who had to take care of me so I could get to this point in my life…the people who had to wake up in the middle night to get me orange juice…the people who had to come to get me from school when I wasn’t feeling well…the people who turned into mathematicians at mealtimes, just to figure out my insulin dosing (I think my dad was ‘inventing’ his own form of carb counting before I was technically taught how, because he gave me more or less insulin for certain foods, but it certainly didn’t follow my ‘sliding scale’ rules).

So thank you to all the other D-bloggers out there who inspire me or remind me of my own past and my own experiences. But especially thank you to the D-parents – without you, children with diabetes wouldn’t become people like me…adults with diabetes.

4 thoughts on “Admiring Our Differences

  1. Likewise, reading perspectives of PWD Bloggers light up a part of my brain that I never knew existed. I LOVE reading of your lives…it gives me a glimps into the future of my boys. Thanks for this!

Leave a Reply

