OneTouch Verio IQ


Today we are asked to write about whatever we wish, which makes today the perfect opportunity for me to share my thoughts on the new meter I’ve been using for over a month now.

Most of you have heard of the new OneTouch Verio IQ meter, and I know that many other d-bloggers have shared their thoughts on the meter (Kerri’s thoughts; Kim’s thoughts) and while I don’t have a whole lot that’s new to say, I still wanted to throw in my 2¢.

I was initially really interested in this meter because it alerts you to high or low patterns based on recent readings at similar times of the day.  Let’s face it – I’m horrible at spotting patterns on my own, despite trying to log things.  I really felt I need a meter that will smack me in the face with that information and let me know immediately what the situation is.  And this meter has delivered, so far.  A low pattern and two high patterns have been brought to my attention by my meter that I had no clue were happening.

I am really in love with this meter for a lot of reasons, besides its ability to alert me to patterns in my blood sugars.  First off, it’s stylish.  Look at it.  Now be honest – isn’t it the sexiest blood glucose meter you’ve ever seen?  As other d-bloggers have pointed out, it does look more like an MP3 player than a medical device – which is cool with me. The less I feel like a ‘sick person’ the better.

I also appreciate that this meter comes with a rechargeable battery.  I’ve been experiencing a lot of inner turmoil lately about medical waste and how much we as diabetics are expected to use and dispose of – things made of plastic, primarily.  But also tons and tons of batteries.  So I love that this meter doesn’t require me to run through a supply of batteries.  Right now it seems I get about 1-1.5 weeks out of a charge, but I don’t think I’ve ever fully charged it (for a few hours), so if I did I’m sure I’d get the 2 weeks out of it that it’s supposed to get.

Because it’s rechargeable it comes with a USB cable – which is a huge bonus because now I can download my meter without paying for the OneTouch cable I never wanted to pay for.  Thing is – I don’t like the OneTouch software, so I don’t download my meter.  But the point is, I could for no additional cost to me.  I do on occasion (very very rarely) use Animas’s Diasend software, and this meter is compatible to be uploaded using Diasend, which is another bonus.

This is also the first meter I’ve ever had that has a strip port light, which I find super cool.  I always had to turn the light on to test at night before – but now I have a light that is actually bright enough to guide the strip in.  The strip port light along with the full color screen means I can see my bloody finger and not smear blood everywhere too. (Gross, I know, but it happens…)

The one thing I wasn’t so sure about with this meter was if I could get insurance coverage for the strips.  Most OneTouch meters use the Ultra line of test strips – these are the strips I’ve used since I was about 15 and I got my OneTouch Ultra meter (since then I’ve been known to use the Ultra 2, the InDuo, the Ultra Smart, a few Ultra Minis, the Ultra Link (when I pumped with Medtronic), and the Ping (is that ALL of the Ultra meters? I think so…). In fact, since I was diagnosed 20 years ago I’ve only ever used LifeScan products.  Anyway, I was a bit hesitant about trying to get different strips – I had no idea if they would be covered because they’re so new in the US. However, my insurance company apparently covers ALL types of OneTouch strips at the same copay so I had no issues switching to the Verio strips.

I love the new test strips – they take less blood (a lot less, it seems to me) and they pull blood in from either the right or the left side (not from the top like the Ultra strips do).  And there is no coding. Nope, I don’t even have to ensure that my meter is set on the default Ultra code 25.  Just…no coding.  I love that.  And the huge draw-in about the strips?  They should be more accurate.  According to LifeScan an Ultra strip “automatically checks each blood sample twice to confirm the result”, while a Verio strip “analyzes your blood sample 500 times to correct for common interferences” (ie acetaminophen and Vitamin C).

The only real negative for me? It doesn’t talk to Frank (my insulin pump), which means my Ping meter will continue to be my backup (especially when I’m wearing a dress).

29 thoughts on “OneTouch Verio IQ

  1. I went to pick up my new verio meter and was told that they were all recalled do you know then they will bw avaiable and what was wrong with them in the first place

    1. They were on a voluntary recall. I bought mine literally the day before the recall and I wanted to use it…so didn’t send mine back. I’ve had NO issues with mine at all, so don’t plan on sending it back. I know that many people did, and all retailers had to pull them off shelves.

      Details of the recall can be found here: http://www.onetouch.com/sites/default/files/pdf/Consumer%20Ltr%20VerioIQ%20V%203%202-21-12%20FINAL.pdf

      I am not sure when retailers will get another supply. I know that I’ve noticed drug stores still aren’t stocking them – I assume that LifeScan is backordered trying to replace meters for existing customers first.

    1. I’m not sure what the full retail price is – I paid $40 for it at Walgreens when it was on sale in early February. I think it’s full cost is closer to $60-$70.

  2. I have a question about insurance and strip coverage… my boyfriend has been diabetic since he was 13, he’s 46 now and I have tried and tried to find any insurance that will cover his test strips, I haven’t found any so I was wondering which insurance you use that will cover them? We are in cincinnati, oh if it helps. Thank you for your time, Billie

    1. My sister had the same problem, then the doc told us the by a wal greens meter and the Doc wrote a precription for the meter and the strips, and the insurance covered both, she now gets her strips montly on her insurance plan. I hope this helps you.

  3. My insurance won’t cover the strips! Dammit! I just got my meter today from a friend who works for a drug rep. I love it already! And Kari, your right! A lot less blood! That helps to not freak people out when you test in public! lol

    I was diagnosed December of 2010 after a pacreatic attack that almost killed me. So a lot of this is new to me. I have the ultra mini and it works fine, but half the time I don’t get enough blood on the strip and get an error…then more finger pricking to get more blood. My fingers are killing me! I have severe eczema on them, so testing each day is a pain in the butt anyway.

    Do you have any ideas on how to get more test strips without insurance covering them??

    1. Call OneTouch and see if they can provide you with some or if they have any kind of discount program. You can always buy them at retail prices, but they are pretty expensive and I don’t recommend going that route! I believe that when they are billed to insurance they end up costing the insurance company about the same as the OneTouch Ultra strips cost – so you could always ask your insurance company how to go about getting permission to have them billed (it may be as simple as having your doctor write a note saying that he recommends you use this particular meter, which needs these particular strips).

  4. We tried the “recommended” route and it was a no go. I will give them (both One Touch and my insurance) and see what I can come up with! Thanks!! :)

  5. METER IS N OT ACCURATE I used it and I have a calibrated meter and the VARIO is 50 or more points to high. The strips are so expensive your going to pay a arm and a leg for it and many people that do not have insurance in the USA especially Veterans they can’t get any reductions because the VA can not write a script out side the VA . You will have to go to a private doctor and that is about $80 dollars to have a doctor write a script and the strips at Walgreen’s for 100 is $164.00 American Mark

    1. I have found mine to actually be spot on when having my A1c tested, so I trust it.

      Yes, the strips are expensive, but if someone doesn’t have insurance they have a lot of cheaper options.

      I don’t know anything about the VA or how veterans obtain prescriptions. I assumed a VA doctor would be able to write a RX for anything any other doctor could write a RX for. For those of us who are not veterans, we already see ‘outside’ doctors, and those doctors already write RXs for our insulin vials or pens, syringes, and/or insulin pump supplies, and maybe for CGM supplies…so having him/her change our test strip RX to one for this meter isn’t a hassle. But again, I know nothing about how the VA does things, so this was never written to be even CLOSE to what a veteran might experience from his/her standpoint.

    2. You can get the strips on Amazon, 100 strips for $89.00. As for the accuracy, take it with you when you get your lab work done. I did, very accurate with lab results. You have to remember all meters are accurate to within 20%. That’s some room for error.

  6. I just got a free Verio IQ and tested with the solution and it passed that test. Then I compared it to ping meter and mini meter, those were very close but the Verio said I was at 85 while the others 66 and 69 respectively. I did realize that I was hungry which was caused by low blood sugar so I am a bit concerned about the meters accuracy. Hopefully this was the result of just bad test strips or the meter being jostled by the T-Slim sales man. I still will try the one that comes with the T-Slim if I can obtain it. Otherwise I need to subtract 19 or so from all of its tests.

  7. I live in Nova Scotia, Canada and test strips are not free. We do have a government program which finally started covering supplies for T1D (only three yrs ago!!), but does not pay for pump supplies. Up until then supplies were only covered for seniors and Type 2 diabetics, and strips were at a limited amount each month. My husbands plan through work pays for everything, but we have to pay for pump supplies and our Verio !Q strips, then submit and be reimbursed. Other One Touch strips were on direct pay and we only had to pay the prescription fee. The reason we were given is that a Drug Identification # has not been applied to the Verio IQ strips yet. That may be the problem in the US as well. Insurance companies consider any drug without a DIN as over the counter and they will not pay. Pump supplies (cartridges & insets) are the same, do not have a DIN so we can’t use direct pay through the pharmacy. That works well for us as we buy them on line through Diabetes Express. They are cheaper and we don’t pay a prescription fee of $10.

    1. I got mine for free from One Touch. If you go to their site and register your meter you should then be able to download the software. It didn’t work for me, so I called the toll free # and they sent me the software program CD for free. I got Lydia’s meter, a charger cord and mini USB cord for free from them also. Woman on the phone told me the meters are free to all Type 1 Diabetics, so should be the same in the US

  8. I have a question for all you young adults with type 1. I am raising a son with type 1 that has had it since he was only 16 months old. He is 8 1/2 now and I am starting to figure out ways to hand over some responsibility to him. The problem I have is that I have never had a disease that is a 24hr a day annoying problem poking at me. I am asking you all what things your parents did that you did not agree with or just flat out annoyed you and even maybe made you angry about having the disease in the first place. I want to support him as much as possible and educate him on the risks without running the risk of making him retaliate in the future. I keep hear about teenagers getting fed up and stopping the care they need. I even met a man that found his son dead in his sleep only 3 years after diagnosis. Please, please, please share with me your thoughts on how I can maybe share this burden with my son without interfering too much. I really want to be able to send him off to college with a clean conscience but I need help from the other side of the fence.

  9. Just got the Verio, compared it with my OneTouch Ultra Mini, and my Accuchek Aviva: Verio 111
    Ultra Mini 110
    Aviva 114

    I’d say its pretty close to the others, unless all my meters are bad. Have a great day!!!

  10. Regarding the cost of the meter. In my experience with diabetic supply companies is that they will be most accommodating on supplying you with a free meter. They just want a customer that will be using their supplies. I’d just get the prescription for your strips straightened out. I’ve even gotten free strips with the free meter, but don’t count on that.

  11. I’m considering getting this meter. (Verio IQ) I use the FS Lite now and I love it. Trust it completly. Insurance says I have to change to a One Touch. I’m concerned with accuracy and the easy in which I can cary the case in my pocket. Any thoughts on this?

    1. We switched from One Touch to the Verio IQ, for our daughter, about six months ago. So far we really like it. I like that it alerts you to highs and lows. She prefers it’s size and it is very light weight. We called the company and they sent out a free meter. We were told the company supplied them free to all Type 1 Diabetics. We are in Canada, so not sure if that would be the same for the US. Also, here at the pharmacies, if you buy 200 strips you get a free meter.

Leave a Reply

